Restricted Parties

Working with Restricted Parties

Although the U.S. government restricts sharing non-public information or shipping to certain individuals or organizations for economic and national security reasons, certain transactions with restricted parties may be permitted with an export license.  The Export Control team is available to help make that determination and secure the necessary license if required for:

  • Foreign collaborations (including visitors or visiting scholars)
  • International shipments
  • Paying foreign persons or entities (for purchases, travel, reimbursement, etc.)
  • Agreements with foreign entities

When considering whether or not a shipment, transfer or disclosure of information will require an export license, the following aspects are reviewed:

  • What is being shipped or disclosed  
  • Who and where it is going or who it is being disclosed to
  • Whether the destination or receiving location, individual or recipient is a restricted entity

If an export license is required, it takes a minimum of 6 weeks to have it approved by the U.S. government and must be in place prior to the export or disclosure. Noncompliance with the export regulations can result in penalties of $250,000 to $1 million per violation.


Conduct Screenings

Export Control has access to Visual Compliance software which combines these government lists into one easy screening tool, known as Restricted Party Screening (RPS). Departments can also utilize Visual Compliance software. You can create an account with your UCI email to conduct screenings. 

U.S. Government Authorities

The U.S. government maintains a number of lists of federally sanctioned, debarred or restricted persons and organizations, including but not limited to:

  • The Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List (U.S. Department of Treasury);
  • The Foreign Sanctions Evaders List (U.S. Department of Treasury);
  • The Entity List (U.S. Department of Commerce);
  • The Denied Persons List (U.S. Department of Commerce);
  • The Unverified List (U.S. Department of Commerce);
  • The Nonproliferation Sanctions List (U.S. Department of State);
  • The AECA Debarred List (U.S. Department of State).