Sanctioned and Embargoed Countries

The Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) of the US Department of the Treasury administers economic and trade sanctions against specific countries, individuals and entities. These trade sanctions programs apply to University activities. For the most recent list of sanctions, please visit the OFAC website.

The most comprehensive sanctions involve:

Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, and Ukraine (Crimea, Donetsk, & Luhansk Regions). 

Contact the Export Control Office BEFORE you

  • Travel to any sanctioned country for any University business purpose, including research.
  • Collaborate with an entity/individual located in a  sanctioned country.
  • Provide online educational courses to students located in sanctioned countries.
  • Initiate or approve telecommuting agreements in sanctioned countries.
  • Agree to participate in a conference (either in-person or remotely).
  • Send or receive physical items (research samples/material).
  • Transfer or receive funds to a sanctioned country.

Remote Learning in Sanctioned Countries

It is important to be mindful of applicable export control and OFAC restrictions when planning to provide distance learning services (e.g. online courses) to someone outside the U.S. There are OFAC restrictions related to taking online courses abroad. Please contact the Export Control Office to determine whether a general license exemption is applicable or to discuss other options available.